Our Region

2050 Vision

Empowered communities nurturing a rich and connected landscape for all – today, tomorrow, together

Our region

The Glenelg Hopkins region lies south of the Great Dividing Range in Victoria’s south-west. It is a varied and productive region renowned for its agricultural industry, rich cultural heritage, scenic beauty, dramatic coastline and unique biodiversity. The region covers 26,910 km2, 220 km of coastline and extends three nautical miles out into the sea. It is characterised by flat volcanic plains in the south, while the Dundas Tablelands, Gariwerd (Grampians) and Central Highlands dominate the north. Landscapes of the region include plains, hills and rugged ranges, bushland, native grasslands, wetlands, coastal cliffs, kelp forests, seagrass beds and reefs.

Natural features of national and international importance include:

  • UNESCO World Heritage listed Budj Bim Cultural Landscape.
  • 6 National Parks, including the National Heritage listed Gariwerd (Grampians National Park).
  • 2 Ramsar sites – Lake Bookar and Glenelg Estuary and Discovery Bay.
  • Key Biodiversity Areas (KBA) – Discovery Bay to Piccaninnie Ponds KBA, Yambuk KBA and Port Fairy to Warrnambool KBA.
  • Moyjil (Point Ritchie) – culturally significant headland at the mouth of the Hopkins River in Warrnambool.
  • Victorian Heritage River listing for the Glenelg River estuary.
  • Australia’s most extensive volcanic province – Kanawinka Geopark.
  • The iconic red-tailed black cockatoo, orange-bellied parrot, Glenelg spiny cray, variegated pygymy perch, blue whale and spiny rice flower, and more than 200 other threatened or listed migratory species.
Map - Glenelg Hopkins region, depicting key features